Jaki McCarrick Longlisted for the Irish Laureate Award

The Scattering author, Jacki McCarrick has been longlisted for the first Irish Laureate Award. Jaki is one of thirty four Irish writers to be nominated for the award and she sits on the longlist alongside names such as Anne Enright, Roddy Doyle, Donal Ryan and Eimear McBride

Launched by the Arts Council in summer 2014, the €150,000 award aims to find a writer who has made a significant contribution to Irish literature and with an internationally recognised body of work.

Jaki is an award winning playwright and short story writer. Her first collection of short stories, The Scattering, a series of skillfully crafted stories focusing on borders, was shortlisted for the Edge Hill award. Her plays have won numerous awards including SCDA National playwriting competition and the Papatango New Writers Award.

Nominations were made by 119 organisations and individuals, with each providing a reason for their selection. Nominations came from book clubs, bookshops, arts organisations, poets, playwrights and libraries.

The first Irish Laureate for Fiction will be announced in January 2015 and the recipient is expected to be an author that has had “a considerably positive impact on readers” and “demonstrated commitment to engaging with the public, the media and the literary sector”.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.