Sunday Poem – Ilse Pedler


Kim Moore’s Sunday Poem is taken from Ilse Pedler’s Mslexia Poetry Competition-winning new pamphlet, The Dogs that Chase Bicycle Wheels

Kim Moore

I’ve just got back from a run with the dogs.  I decided to run through the dunes and then back along the beach.  It has been a beautiful day here in Barrow – very hot and sunny.  I was running as the sun was going down and the sky turning red.  Although it was beautiful, I still didn’t enjoy it as much as I do when I go with friends.  Why is running alone so much harder than running in a group?  Is it because you are left to your own thoughts?  If I didn’t know I’ve ran 13 miles in three different races, I wouldn’t have believed it, from how tired I felt running along that beach back to the car.

I normally go running in the morning with the Walney Wind Cheetahs, but couldn’t go today as I had family visiting this weekend.  My twin sister and her husband…

View original post 1,372 more words

Leave a Reply

